YS Chang Endowment Award

This Award was made available in 2013 by an endowment from Prof Y S Chang (22nd President of AOFOG, 2007-2009). Due to his keen interest in Reproductive Endocrinology and Infertility (REI), he established this Award to reward the best REI paper published in the Journal of Obstetrics & Gynaecology Research (JOGR) in the 2 years preceding the AOFOG Congress. The Award is only open to member societies of the AOFOG. Only one Award will be conferred at each AOFOG Congress.

Selection Criteria

  • The Editor in Chief (EIC) of the JOGR will select the 5 best REI papers published in the JOGR in the 2 years preceding the AOFOG Congress starting from January and ending in December of the following year. For example, for AOFOG 2019, all REI papers published from 1st January 2017 till 31st December 2018 will be considered.

  • There is no age limit but the candidate must be the first named author.

  • Authors from a National Society in arrears for more than 3 years at the time of consideration of the Awards are not eligible. The EIC will therefore request from the Honorary Treasurer a list of National Societies in arrears for more than 3 years.

  • The articles will then be sent to members of the Selection Committee comprising the EIC, Chairman of the REI Committee and a Representative of the YS Chang Foundation, who will adjudicate based on originality, relevance, scientific content, methodology, discussion and other factors as determined by the EIC.

  • The EIC will collate all the scores and determine the winner. In the case of a tie, the EIC will have absolute discretion to decide the winner.

  • The YS Chang winner is not eligible for the Young Scientist or Murata Awards.In a situation where an author has the highest mark for both the Chang Award and the YSA, he will receive the YSA and the Chang Award will then go to the next author in order of merit.

  • The Secretariat will notify the Executive Board of the winners of the YSA, Murata and Chang Awards 4 months before the AOFOG Congress. Once ratified, all 3 winners will be notified at the same time by the Secretariat.

  • The winner will be requested to receive the Award in person. The Congress Registration fee will be waived but the Award does not cover travel or accommodation expenses. If the Awardee is unable or unwilling to accept the Award in person, the Award will be offered to the next candidate in order of merit.


The Award will be made at the Opening Ceremony following the conferment of Fellows. The Secretary General will describe the background and selection process of the Award as well as the details of the Award which includes a certificate called The YS Chang Endowment Award signed by the EIC and the President of AOFOG, a cash award of USD$3,000 and a Silver Medal. He will then announce the winner and the title of the winning paper. The Certificate will be presented by the EIC, the cash award by a representative of the YS Chang Foundation and the medal by the President of AOFOG.

© 2017-2018 Copyright Asia and Oceania Federation of Obstetrics and Gynaecology web counter free