Young Scientist Award (YSA)

In 1990, the late Professor M. Mizuno (13th President of AOFOG, 1989-1991), through the support of the Japan Society of Obstetrics and Gynaecology, created funds for the Young Scientist Award. The Award is only open to member societies of AOFOG. Only one Award will be conferred at each AOFOG Congress.

Selection Criteria

  • The Chairman of the Journal Committee / Editor in Chief (EIC) of the Journal of Obstetrics & Gynaecology Research will select the ten (10) best articles from those published in the Journal in the 2 years preceding the AOFOG Congress starting from January and ending in December of the following year. For example, for AOFOG 2019, all papers published from 1st January 2017 till 31st December 2018 will be considered.

  • The candidate must be the first named author and must have been 45 years or below when the article was submitted.

  • Authors from a National Society in arrears for more than 3 years at the time of consideration of the Awards are not eligible. The EIC will therefore request from the Honorary Treasurer a list of National Societies in arrears for more than 3 years.

  • The articles will then be sent to members of the Editorial Committee who will adjudicate based on originality, relevance, scientific content, methodology, discussion and other factors as determined by the EIC.

  • The EIC will collate all the scores and determine the winner. In the case of a tie, the EIC will have absolute discretion to decide the winner.

  • The YSA winner is not eligible for the Murata or Chang Awards. In a situation where an author has the highest mark for both the YSA and Murata / Chang Awards, he will receive the YSA and the Murata / Chang Award will be given to the next author in order of merit.

  • The Secretariat will notify the Executive Board of the winners of the YSA, Murata and Chang Awards 4 months before the AOFOG Congress. Once ratified, all 3 winners will be notified at the same time by the Secretariat.

  • The winner will be requested to receive the Award in person. The Congress Registration fee will be waived but the Award does not cover travel or accommodation expenses. If the Awardee is unable or unwilling to accept the Award in person, the Award will be offered to the next candidate in order of merit.


The Award will be made at the Opening Ceremony following the conferment of Fellows. The Secretary General will describe the background and selection process of the Award as well as the details of the Award which includes a certificate called The YS Chang Endowment Award signed by the EIC and the President of AOFOG, a cash award of USD$3,000 and a Silver Medal. He will then announce the winner and the title of the winning paper. The Certificate will be presented by the EIC, the cash award by a representative of the YS Chang Foundation and the medal by the President of AOFOG.

© 2017-2018 Copyright Asia and Oceania Federation of Obstetrics and Gynaecology web counter free